RSS

It’s the final countdown…

28 Apr

Like I wasn’t already nervous and excited, I wake up to this text…..

Needless to say, I’m shakin’ in my running shoes!

To help settle some pre-race anxiety I went through my three favorite (and easy to follow) tips. Funny that these are the same three tips I followed before my first 5K. Boy have I come a long way..

1. Prepare- It’s VITAL to take care of yourself before a race. It’s not necessarily what you do the day of the race, but rather how you prepare BEFORE the race. Regardless of the distance of the race, make sure to stick to the routine. Don’t try and get fancy, just eat what you normally would before a run, stretch like you always have, and HYDRATE. Have everything laid out the night before so there are no last-minute search and rescue missions!

2. Breathe- When I get nervous my breathing becomes shallow.  This only makes things worse, especially when you’re trying to watch your heart rate. Take slow, deep breaths. I call these.. Yoga breaths. Relaxing, huh?

3. Smile- The hard part is over!!!!!  It always makes me feel better to smile, high-five, and wave at people during the race. It reminds me that racing is fun and I love running so why stress about the results? And, ALWAYS smile at the cameras and at the finish line because eventually those pictures will be on the Internet. 🙂

When I run through the finish line I know it won’t compare to anything I’ve ever done before. I’ll be an emotional wreck, but I think I have good reason for being that way. I keep getting stuck on the fact that I need to run my hardest the entire time, but I know that’s not true. When we decided to run the full instead of the half I promised myself I would enjoy the journey, and not stress about my time and I’m not going back on that promise. It can be tempting to hold yourself to too high of standards and to feel embarrassed if you don’t reach your “goal time” or feel like you’ll never make it to the end, but like John Bingham said, “The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.”

Country Music Marathon here I come!!!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 28, 2011 in Tips and links

 

7 responses to “It’s the final countdown…

  1. Alli

    April 28, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    This made me feel so much better! 🙂 Im a nervous wreck and only running the half…..Im so excited to be sharing this awesome experience with you ladies! Let the fun begin!!!!!

     
  2. pmccllln

    April 28, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    You’re going to dominate. Good luck!

     
  3. Chris

    April 28, 2011 at 5:29 pm

    I am so excited to watch you run your first marathon. You have accomplished so much and I am so proud of you. Way to go girl!! You rock!!

     
  4. kmsharpe

    April 28, 2011 at 5:40 pm

    This has been AMAZING! I am so glad that I’m getting to share this with you!! 🙂

    What a GREAT post! One of my favorites I must say!

    Bring on the MARATHON!

     
  5. Shannon W.

    April 28, 2011 at 6:30 pm

    Wishing you guys the best of luck! Abby and I have begun running. Did our first 5k a couple of of weeks ago and will be doing first 10k in June. As a beginner runner it has been hard but I have read tidbits of your blog and it has helped! Your discipline and motivation are inspirational !

     
  6. Kevin Leathers

    April 28, 2011 at 11:27 pm

    you got this

     
  7. Betsy

    May 2, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    YALL DID GREAT!!!!!!!!!!! SO PROUD OF YOU!

     

Leave a comment