RSS

I think I can, I think I can….

28 Feb

Training for a marathon is much harder than I thought. Not only physically, but mentally I didn’t prepare myself enough.

So, after a 12 mile run last week, I was sick for about 5 hours. I felt discouraged about my time and my performance. I decided I was going to try and take care of myself, not only before and after, but during my runs by buying a running belt to have easy access to a little water and Gu.

Hoping this would help me during my run this weekend (along with a new playlist) I finished my 14 miles  in 2 hours and 13 minutes and I felt GREAT!

Then, I saw this in the Commercial Appeal this morning!  Love these stories because I don’t feel like I’m struggling alone 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

When Aida Wiese finished eighth in her age group at a California half-marathon in 2005, she started to dream a little bigger.

“That day I realized I could be good at this,” she said. “I thought maybe I could qualify for the Boston Marathon one day.”

 

Inaugurated in 1897 with 15 runners, the Boston Marathon is considered one of the most prestigious road races in the world, attracting more than 20,000 registrants a year.

“If you’re a runner, you know what the Boston Marathon is,” said Wiese, 39, of Collierville.

After waiting a couple of years to increase her qualifying time, she ran the St. Jude Memphis Marathon in 2009 and missed qualifying by 1½ minutes.

“It was kind of devastating, but I also still had hope that I could do this,” said the mother of two.

Her second attempt at the St. Jude race in 2010 resulted in a knee injury, and she walked the last six miles.

“That was so devastating,” she said. “I didn’t know if I ever wanted to try to qualify for the Boston Marathon again.”

Being part of a running community helped put her back in the game.

In October, Wiese, who is also a running coach and personal trainer, traveled to Florida to cheer on a friend participating in a half Ironman.

“It was very inspiring. It’s fun to cheer people on and see them finish a race,” she said.

The day she returned home, she began looking for a new opportunity.

“I told my husband, ‘I need to find a marathon. I need to qualify,'” she said.

On Sunday, Feb. 13, Wiese ran the Birmingham Mercedes Marathon, and beat her qualifying time by 12 minutes.

She attributes her success to having a new approach to racing.

“I trained smart. I didn’t push myself. When I ran the race, I took it easy and told myself my No. 1 goal was to qualify and so to have fun,” she said.

She plans to carry that same attitude with her to New England in 2012.

“Birmingham felt great. It changes your whole perspective when you feel good during a race,” she said. “I just want to finish. I just want to enjoy the experience and have fun. And buy lots of pants and jackets that say ‘Boston Marathon’ on them.”

Aida Wiese

Age: 39

Hometown: Collierville

What she did: After missing her qualifying time two years in a row, Wiese kept pushing forward and finished the Birmingham Mercedes Marathon in 3 hours and 38 minutes to qualify for the women’s 40 age group at the 2012 Boston Marathon.

Advice: “Dream big, and never quit.”

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2011 in Tips and links

 

2 responses to “I think I can, I think I can….

  1. Betsy

    March 1, 2011 at 3:07 am

    You’re doing great Coley!! Keep up the good work!!!!!

     
  2. rpavelko

    March 2, 2011 at 4:27 am

    Love the pic of you rocking that cute belt 🙂

     

Leave a comment